Walk21 International Charter for Walking

In October 2014, the NSW Government and City of Sydney co-hosted the Walk21 International Conference on Walking and Liveable Communities at Luna Park, Sydney.  Just over 500 delegates from around the world participated in the Conference and week of events, representing the transport, health, planning, community and development sectors. There were 12 keynotes, over 100 papers, 11 walkshops exploring different aspects of walkability around Sydney, and a ‘speed dating’ session where 35 researchers and practitioners talked about how their work is helping to encourage more people to walk.


You can view the abstracts, program, presentations, photos, outcomes and achievements at the Walk21 Sydney website www.walk21sydney.net 


Walk21 International Charter for Walking

The Walk21 International Charter for Walking supports and promotes the creation of healthy, efficient and sustainable communities where people choose to walk.



To create a world where people choose and are able to walk as a way to travel, to be healthy and to relax, a world where authorities, organisations and individuals have:

  • recognised the value of walking;
  • made a commitment to healthy, efficient and sustainable communities; and
  • worked together to overcome the physical, social and institutional barriers which often limit people’s choice to walk.


The Charter is based on the concepts of inclusive mobility, integrated networks, less crime, promotion of walking, spaces for people, spatial planning, supported authorities and reducing road danger.


Walk 21 Charter and NSW local councils

In the lead up to the Walk21 International Conference on Walking and Liveable Communities in October 2014, 21 local councils from around NSW signed the Walk21 charter, committing to creating a healthy, efficient and walkable local community.

These councils were:

These councils were:

  • Brewarrina Shire Council
  • City of Sydney Council
  • Dubbo City Council
  • Guyra Shire Council
  • Hunters Hill Council
  • Jerilderie Shire Council
  • Kogarah City Council
  • Ku-ring-gai Council
  • Lismore City Council
  • Maitland City Council
  • Manly Council
  • Mosman Municipal Council
  • North Sydney Council
  • Penrith City Council (media)
  • Pittwater Council (media announcement)
  • Port Stephens Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • The Council of the Municipality of Kiama
  • Upper Hunter Shire Council
  • Willoughby City Council
  • Wollongong City Council

Councils that have subsequently signed the Charter include:

W21 Charter signing 1

Western Sydney Councils signing the Walk21 Charter

Left to Right: Damien Drew (Blue Mountains City Council), Dr Danny O’Connor (WSLHD), Cllr Stephen Bali (Blacktown City Council), Cllr Ned Mannoun (Liverpool City Council), Cllr Karen McKeown (Penrith City Council), Cllr Tony Hadchiti (WSROC), Cllr Dai Le (Fairfield City Council), Cllr Steven Issa (Parramatta City Council), Ian Dencker (Auburn City Council), Henning Bracker(Bankstown City Council)


Has your local council signed the Charter?

Councils can sign the Walk21 Charter at any time and join the commitment across NSW to creating healthy, efficient and sustainable communities where people choose to walk.

Download the Charter here.